Download is available until [expire_date]
  • Version 3
  • Download 473
  • File Size 5.83 MB
  • File Count 1
  • Create Date April 24, 2024
  • Last Updated April 24, 2024

The Fairlight Collection Vol1: Strings, Brass and Vocal for the Korg Modwave

UPDATE: I have uploaded a new version which includes a couple of missing files.

The CMI Fairlight was a ground breaking digital synthesizer, sequencer, and sampler from Australia. Its samples became synonymous with 1980s pop music, featuring instantly recognizable sounds used by artists like Thomas Dolby, Peter Gabriel, Jan Hammer, Kate Bush, and many more.

The Fairlight IIx was introduced in 1982 at the staggering price of £30,000 (more than a house at the time). It boasted 8-bit samples and a 32kHz sample rate, capable of reproducing sounds that were impossible to create on analog synths of the era.

This collection for the Korg Modwave features original Fairlight IIx samples and includes classic sounds like the orchestral hit and ARR1. Among the sounds are those from Kate Bush's "Running Up That Hill," Yes's "Owner of a Lonely Heart," and countless '80s hits.

The ZIP file contains 47 performances and samples. To add them to your Korg Modwave, download the ZIP file, unzip it, and use the Korg Sample Editor to transfer them to your Modwave, Modwave mkII, Modwave Rack, or Modwave Native.

Included in the ZIP are the Korg Modwave Performance, Korg Sample Editor Multisamples, Sample Bank, and the WAV files needed for the collection. Unzip the file and import the "FairlightVol1.mwbundle" from your Modwave Librarian.

If you already have a sample bank open, launch the Korg Sample Editor and import the multisamples from the "Fairlight Samples V1/Multisamples" folder. If you don't have a sample bank yet, you can open my "Fairlight Samples V1.korgbank" in the Korg Sample Editor and transfer it to your Modwave.

For those with Modwave Native, set your Modwave's user sample folder to the location containing my "FairlightVol1.Korgcompiledbank" file.

2 thoughts on “The Fairlight Collection Vol1: Strings, Brass and Vocal for the Korg Modwave”

Leave a Reply